X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • coolguy684
    • Feb 2011

Terrible slurring habits

As a college student, I haven't found much time to practice euphonium lately. Playing the solo from the Suite in F, I realized that my slurring was either always bad or has gotten bad. The initial slur from G to A (TC) has a very un-euphonious transition that can only be described as "bblegh." So I definitely want to start playing more. Does anyone have any tips or a link to a good slurring exercise? I've just been going from G to B, G to C, G to D, and so on up the the C scale.
    Christopher Chen
    bolded are for sale
    B&H 967 - Globe Stamp
    B&H 960 (3 valve comp euph) - Globe Stamp
    Salvation Army Triumphonic Eb Alto, silver plated

On the lookout for:
    Silver plated:
    pre '93, post '06 Sovereign Alto/Tenor Horn
    pre '93, post '06 Sovereign Baritone (3 valve)

York/Sterling/LMI variants accepted
  • tonewheeler
    • Dec 2010

The Arban's Trombone/Euph Book has an extensive and helpful section on slur exercises.
    Euphs:
    Miraphone 5050 Ambassador
    Wessex Travel (Tornister) Euphonium 'Maly' ER154
    Yamaha 201 Baritone
    Mp: Wick SM4 Ultra X
    Groups:
    The San Diego Concert Band

Comment

• Eupher6
      • Mar 2009

I think what you're talking about is basic chop strength. If your chops are weak, you'll probably get an uneven sound as you slur UP, especially beyond the partial break.

Best way to handle this kind of thing is to work the Arban's book (as tonewheeler suggests) with a metronome and work the exercise slowly till perfection, then ratchet up the metronome to work the exercise faster.

I read somewhere some time ago that a great way to build chop strength is to work lip slurs going UP. Of course, you need to work slurs going down, too, but working lip slurs and lip trills without mashing the mouthpiece to the chops is a great way to work the chops.

Before too long, things start getting smooth and even.