X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • LouieD
    • Jul 2012

New horn, new mp?

So im most likely getting an Adams in a few months (waiting for it to get in stock) and I currently play on a yep-321 using a schilke 51. I have a schilke 5051 and 51D in large bore which would work for the Adams obviously but my question is this:

Should I purchase something like the 4AL when I get the new horn and get used to both at the same time, or just use what I have and then switch after I've bonded and settled with the horn?

Thoughts?
    Mack Euph
    Warburton Demondre MP
  • DaTweeka
    • Jun 2012

When I moved up from a Yamaha 321 to a Besson Sovereign, I started playing around with mouthpieces to adjust to the larger bore size. You could stick with the 51D if you wanted to, but when I was trying out mouthpieces, I found it to be really... muddy. The tone was pretty bad, the cup felt a little tight, and I kinda wanted to remove myself from everything that the Yamaha was, having found myself a big boy horn. So, I started with a 2AL (it's all I had, for a while) then a 4AL (came with the horn), then I got myself a BB1, then a heavyweight GW Kadja in SS, then a Gail Robertson model, and then a GW Kadja in titanium. I recently traded some pieces out for an SM3.5 and a GW Carbonaria. Came back to the GW Kadja. So, in relation to the 51D, a more open throat, a funnel cup, and a sharper rim. It's all about what works for you, as has been attested many many times throughout the forums. There are some general rules you can follow about mouthpiece choice, but it all comes down to what you want out of the horn and how your chops respond to the different parameters. Now, you could go out and blow a whole bunch of cash trying every mouthpiece under the sun (which, judging by your horn choice, you might just be able to do) or you could make some educated guesses, and work off of those. OR, you could just stick with the mouthpiece you've got, work with the Adams for a while, and th