Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help with Tuba embouchure

1. Help with Tuba embouchure

hello, I've been playing tuba for about three years and was pretty good at it until one day out of nowhere my lips start feeling very stiff and can barely hit any note without cracking it.
    Also another problem is when I'm playing notes between a G and B flat I get a double buzz which is when the side of my lip starts buzzing along with the center and it is starting to irritate me.
    I am losing confidence in my playing and can't find any way to fix this problem. If anyone had a similar experience or knows how to fix this please help because I am getting very desperate and I want to
    be able to enjoy playing my instrument with confidence again. By the way this has been happening to me for a month now.

2. Quote Originally Posted by risingtuba View Post
    hello, I've been playing tuba for about three years and was pretty good at it until one day out of nowhere my lips start feeling very stiff and can barely hit any note without cracking it.
    "Some days you get up and put the horn to your chops and it sounds pretty good and you win. Some days you try and nothing works and the horn wins. This goes on and on and then you die and the horn wins." -- Dizzy Gillispe.
    Also another problem is when I'm playing notes between a G and B flat I get a double buzz
    There are lots of reasons why one can have a double buzz. Check out this blog post and embedded video for an overview of the most common causes (though I would note that a lot of brass players, regardless of instrument, "flip" their lips/airstream--the first cause Wilken discusses--around the third-fourth partials).
    I am losing confidence in my playing and can't find any way to fix this problem. If anyone had a similar experience or knows how to fix this please help because I am getting very desperate and I want to be able to enjoy playing my instrument with confidence again.