Thread: How to extend my tuba register.

1. How to extend my tuba register.

Hi, I am a freshman (going into sophomore) tuba player at Hopkinsville High School in Hopkinsville, KY, and I usually play on either a St Petersburg 202N or 201N 4 valve BBb tuba. I can play comfortably anywhere from Bb 2 octaves below the bass staff up to Bb 3rd line in the treble staff. But i want to try to improve my range, and tone. I play perfectly well in the high and middle register, but my low register is suffering in comparison to the mid-high. When I play anything below Eb 2 octaves below the bass staff, the sound loses resonance and sometimes growls. My band director told me that to fix this, something i could do was to do longer and slower descending warmups and warmdowns, so I practiced this for several weeks, noticing a little bit of improvement in my low register, as well as more resonance in my high register. But the improvement in my low register stopped aftre several more weeks of doing this. He also told me to raise my palette and open my throat more, so that more warmer air can be used. But when I did that, I noticed that I started to fell light headed and ran out of breathe really quickly. Are there any other things that I might be able to do to either extend my low register, or at least improve where I can reach now?