Thread: Wants a brand New euph

1. Wants a brand New euph

Hello, this is my first post.

Throughout High School I played on a Hirsbrunner Exclusive and I loved it but once I graduated I had to give it back. So durring the summer between senior year and my freshman year at the University of Houston I started playing on an OLD willson 2900 medium shank Euphonium. I had no other choice so I started using it and I still can't get used to it. I want something with the power and the sensitivity of the Hirsbrunner. Is there a euph that would be similar if not better. I just feel like the Willson 2900 is to small for me and the sound i'm getting sounds like i'm over playing it. Can someone help?!

Wants a brand New euph

I would try the Miraphone 5050 and see how it works for you. Played a Hirsbrunner recently and though it is not the same, especially in the bell flare, it reminded me of the 5050 in some ways.

Wants a brand New euph

Other candidates would be (in alphabetical order):

Adams Custom (either the new heavier-metal models or the sterling silver bell model)Besson Prestige (large bell)Sterling Virtouso with large, heavy bellWillson 2975 or 2960Yamaha 641 or 642I think all those have a good, open sound and a more open feel than the Willson 2900 you experienced. The most similar in blowing feel might be the Adams. I find the first 3 above to have the biggest sound.If you are looking for a large, deep sound, you would be advised to try the horns in a big room if at all possible. Trying them in a small room can give you a totally wrong impression (smaller-sounding horns will usually sound better in a small room like the typical practice room or household room).

Dave Werden (ASCAP)
    Euphonium Soloist, U.S. Coast Guard Band, retired
    Adams Artist (Adams E3)
    Alliance Mouthpiece (DC3)
    YouTube: dwerden
    Facebook: davewerden
    Twitter: davewerden
    Instagram: davewerdeneuphonium

4. Wants a brand New euph