Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Financing a New Horn

1. Financing a New Horn

Hi all. I am a college music student wanting to purchase my first euphonium. I was looking to spend up to around $5,000, but I cannot pay it all at once. Does anyone know a place that will finance a euphonium for some monthly payments? This would make me a very happy camper.

Thanks

Financing a New Horn

Short answer: JUST SAY NO!

Longer answer: it almost never makes sense financially to finance a horn. Not only are the interest rates exorbitant (anywhere from 17-23%, compound interest), the resultant debt reduces your creditworthiness, which negatively affects your ability to secure favorable interest rates on student loans.

Most major retailers (WWBW/Guitar Center/Music123/Music and Arts, Dillon, ProWinds, etc., and some manufacturers (Yamaha) offer vendor-limited credit cards serviced by one of the big card companies (GE Financial, Wells Fargo, HSBC, etc., with low teaser rates: typically no interest for 6-12 months.

The primary point of these cards is to sucker you into paying a LOT more for your horn without realizing it (the interest on $5000 at 17% over 4 years works out to $1925.21; at 23%, the interest works out to $2,692.35).

The secondary point is to get you to walk out with a horn regardless of whether or not you can afford it. It is one of many ways they try to get a horn into your hands no matter what. Some stores are aggressive in trying to get you to sign up for their store card or for such nightmare "deals" like this.

The "gotcha" on these cards that if you either miss or are late on a payment (even if the late payment is not your fault), you will owe interest on the full amount of the purchase price, calculated retroactively to the date of purchase (read the fine print). And if you miss several payments, they may also repossess your horn.