Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: MPC Buzz is Dead

MPC Buzz is Dead

I recently started playing on a new silver Yamaha-321. I love the horn!

I have been experimenting with different mouthpieces. I am using a Schilke 51D but will soon demo a Wick 4AY.

I have been reading a lot about rim sizes and weight, etc..etc..

I picked up the Schilke and another Wick I had form a large shank horn as well as an Alliance 4a, and a Bach 5GS. When I buzzed on the bach, wick and alliance, I could buzz up really high and make the mouthpiece sizzle if you will.

When I buzz on the Schilke 51D its more like a dead thud. I dont get any feedback and I cant buzz as high with the 51 D. I dont feel like I am in control of the piece when I am buzzing it. I try to angle the air up toward the top inside of the mpc and it seems to fight back a little.

That being said, when I actually play on the Schilke, the range is perfectly fine, way above staff, I don't have any issues there. I just wonder if I am getting everything I can out of my horn with that Schilke or would a lighter Wick with more feedback be better?

Thoughts?

Lee

MPC Buzz is Dead

In my humble opinion you should judge the mouthpieces by what happens when you use the mouthpiece on the horn and do not judge in any way at all based upon "buzzing" with the mouthpiece alone.

I do not intend to start a controversy here, and i know that lots of experts and teachers say you should practice buzzing on the mouthpiece. I will point out that while buzzing is a widespread recommendation, buzzing is NOT universally recommended. If I were not already out on a limb enough saying that, I will risk further wrath of youffers by mentioning a famous current trombone soloist on mouthpiece buzzing, i.e. Christian Lindberg.