Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Entry-level Sterling Royale

1. Entry-level Sterling Royale

Caveat: I own a Sterling Virtuoso Euphonium and it is one of my favorite brands so my comments are biased, however I am NOT a Sterling artist and have no commercial ties.

At USABTEC, I had the opportunity to play a Sterling Royale euphonium at the Custom Music booth. This is the entry-level Sterling horn. The one I played had a 12" yellow-brass bell (instead of 300mm heavy red-brass) and used a Cerveny valveset instead of the Bauerfeind valveset my Virtuoso has. It has no trigger and no gold platiing, but is silver plated. It also does not have the heavy bottom cap of the Virtuoso, so the whole horn is quite a bit lighter.

I was very pleasantly surprised with the way it played. The horn felt very much like the Virtuoso next to it (same spec as my own) and had a glorious, singing sound with excellent response. However, I was astonished when I heard the price... $4,299. This is about $1,000 less than an equivalent Besson 967S and is near or below the best price one can get for a Yamaha 642S.

In terms of price/performance, this has to be one of the best buys I saw at the show.

Doug
    Adams E3 0.60 Sterling bell - Prototype top sprung valves
    Concord Band
    Winchendon Winds
    Townsend Military Band

Entry-level Sterling Royale

Wow! I tried this one and liked it even better than the virtuoso! I'm not a fan at all of heavy bells OR red brass bells... Valves were noisy as I recall, but that's something that some better quality felts could help with.

--
    Barry

3. Quote Originally Posted by bbocaner View Post
    Wow! I tried this one and liked it even better than the virtuoso! I'm not a fan at all of heavy bells OR red brass bells... Valves were noisy as I recall, but that's something that some better quality felts could help with.

Sorry to revive such an old post, but would you, or Doug, say the Royale is a Sterling equivalent to the Sovereign?