Thread: Yamaha 842S or Besson Prestige?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. Yamaha 842S or Besson Prestige?

I am a college student at USU, studying music education (and music therapy). Euphonium is my main instrument and I've never owned my own horn before. I've been using the school's best horn - a Besson Sovereign - but I need to buy my own instrument now.

I've narrowed it down to two horns (not exactly hard when it comes to euphoniums)

1. Besson Prestige

2. Yamaha 842S

I've read reviews, but I can't tell which one would be better. I usually hear that Besson is way better than Yamaha, but sometimes I will hear that Yamaha is better because of the intonation problems of the Besson. I would ignore the intonation comments if it wasn't for the fact that I had some serious tuning issues with the Besson I'm on now. The horn plays very sharp - my tuning slide is almost all the way out all of the time.

However, over time, I got used the the Besson and my pitch issues sort of fixed themselves.

Still, I'd like advice. Which horn is better in your opinion?

Thank you!

- Sarah

Yamaha 842S or Besson Prestige?

There is no "right" answer: the horn that's better for ME might not be better for YOU. A good Besson will blow a bad Yamaha off the stage, just as a good Yamaha will blow a bad Besson off the stage. Try everything and use what works FOR YOU.

Because horns aren't put together by robots, there can be significant differences in how two horns that come off the same assembly line side by side, so you should make the effort to try as many different 842s and Prestiges as you can before forming an opinion on which is "better" for you, and then try several of that model side-by-side to select the best of the lot.

I've narrowed it down to two horns (not exactly hard when it comes to euphoniums)