Thread: Developing as Teacher

Developing as Teacher

I am currently studying as a music performance major at West Virginia Unv. My concern as a euph teacher is that I need to double on either trombone or tuba. I am already a fairly good trombone player but think it would be more practical and would be more valuble to pick up tuba. Should I start practicing tuba? Will playing tuba mess with my embouchure? If so what would be a good transition tuba mouthpiece?

Thanks for your responses,

Eric Hurd

Developing as Teacher

The best advice would probably come from Ben Pierce at the University of Arkansas on this one, as he doubles better than anyone I can think of.
    Brandon Jones
    Principal Euphonium - The United States Air Force Band, Washington, D.C.
    bmjones82@gmail.com

3. Developing as Teacher

Originally posted by: WVUEUPH ... My concern as a euph teacher is that I need to double on either trombone or tuba. I am already a fairly good trombone player but think it would be more practical and would be more valuble to pick up tuba. ...
    The ability to double will always serve you well--especially as a euph player. I'm curious why you think tuba would be a more practical/valuable choice.

Of course it all depends on the local supply and demand of players and teachers, but my experience was that it was a little difficult for me to find many euph and tuba students, whereas I didn't have capacity for all the trombones hitting me up for lessons.

Developing as Teacher

I think tuba is a great instrument for a euphonium player to pick up.