Thread: What should I be looking for?

1. What should I be looking for?

Hello all! I'm new here. To give you context for my question, I'll give you the quick rundown on who I am:

Trumpet was my main instrument for 20 years, I went to school for music, got a MM from New England Conservatory, played professionally for several years, then burnt out around age 30. I took a few years away from playing seriously, then started toying with a valve trombone (and gigging on it with bar bands.) Several months ago, I started playing slide trombone, and have now been itching to get back into chamber/orchestral music (likely on euph). I recently got a call to play euph in an orchetra -- which I'd love to do, but I don't have a horn.

I will likely just try to find a borrow for this gig, but as I begin to poke around and think about buying one, I realized that I don't even know which horns are appropriate for what I am looking to do. I don't think I need a compensating instrument (and can't afford one anyway!) as I've never played one (back in high school I played a Yamaha 321 for 3 years), and won't be playing at a pro level anymore.

I'm leaning on a used 321 due to it's small shank, and relative known-entity-ness. Should I be looking at other things? Is this an appropriate instrument for orchestral & chamber settings? What am I forgetting/missing? Any other suggesions you all can make?

Thanks in advance!

What should I be looking for?

It depends on your ability, the orchestra's abilities, and your goals. I once heard the Chicago Symphony perform a piece with a very exposed euphonium part. This was in the middle 1970's when there were not as many choices in euphoniums. He produced a fine, huge sound on a Yamaha 321.