X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • euphoniumlips
    • Feb 2007

New compensating euphonium

I am a freshman in college this year and am looking to finally get a compensating euphonium. I have had the same non compensating for the past 7 years. It is a Weril and i have enjoyed it a lot but the tone quality has been going flatter in the past few years for some reason and the horn itself is holding me back since it is a beginners horn. Any ideas for a good priced compensating euphonium? I was looking at a Yamaha or Besson or even something else. Thanks!
  • davewerden
    Administrator
    • Nov 2005

If price is not a big factor, the world is your oyster! There are some remarkably good euphoniums on the market these days. Look around the various threads and you'll see lots of comments about brands (start in the Euphonium Brands area). My choice is the Sterling, but there are many other good ones around.

If price is more of a factor, the best buy is generally thought to be the Yamaha 642. I don't think there is much about that horn that would hold you back, as long as you like the sound. Generally I don't think the Yamaha's have as warm and singing a sound as the British horns (York, & Sterling) or the formerly-British brand Besson. I think they can be found new in the $4000's somewhere.

If that is still too high, there are some fine used horns on the market. Here is a Sterling Virtuoso that sounds pretty nice based on the description (similar to my own horn, expect this one does not have a trigger):

Sterling Virtuoso - $3900

That horn offers very good intonation right out of the box and a lovely sound, great response, etc.

Here is an intonation chart where you can compare various brands:

Euphonium Intonation

Dave Werden (ASCAP)
    Euphonium Soloist, U.S. Coast Guard Band, retired
    Adams Artist (Adams E3)
    Alliance Mouthpiece DC3, Wick 4AL, Wick 4ABL
    YouTube: dwerden
    Facebook: davewerden
    Twitter: davewerden