Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New to Brass - not music

New to Brass - not music

Hi guys,

This is my first post. I'd like to fill you in on my background so you know where I'm coming from and then ask your help on which euphoniums to consider.

I have a music degree with an emphasis in theory and composition. after college I taught choral music for 15 yrs. then became a school adm. for the next 20. 6 months ago I decided I wanted to learn an instrument and picked up a trumpet and an Arban's book and went at it. I played this summer in the local community band and enjoyed it immensely. About a month ago my band director told me he needed another euphonium player for a Tuba Christmas he was organizing. I balked, at first, but he said with my music background and armed with the treble clef parts, I'd do just fine. As you might suspect from this post, I have now lost interest in the trumpet and I'm working on the euphonium. Three Tuba Christmas's and an ad lib jazz gig in a month and I'm hooked.

My problem is I've been using the school's instruments so far. All our euphoniums are used by students, so I can only use them for performances and occasional practice. I'm looking to buy my own.

I've been playing a Yamaha student model and like it. I need to spend $500 or less and don't mind how banged up it is, just need one to help me learn the euphonium placement of pitches and to learn the bass clef fingerings. If all goes well, I'll get a better one later.

Besides the Yamaha's, are there other brands I should be looking for in my price range to consider.

Thanks for any help.

John

New to Brass - not music

Welcome to the forum!

The Yamaha 321 is a great horn for someone in your position. It is very tough to find one for $500 or less, though. But it's been around for decades and you might luck out and find a tough-looking one for your price. Some of the American brands can be found now and then with 4 valves for a cheap price (again, it rough condition).