Thread: Music For Self-Taught Adult Beginners

1. Music For Self-Taught Adult Beginners

There are a lot of us out there. Probably we played another instrument and are just starting with a low brass instrument. We don't need to learn to read music, learn rhythms or any of that other beginner stuff. We can make decent sounds on our new choice of instrument and have even learned a scale or two.

What do we need? Some more music. I found something here:

http://www.allstarbrass.org/kn...music/index.htm

Scales, with fingerings, etudes, and exercises, in PDF format. All available for Trombone, baritone/euph (both clefs) and tuba.

It's a start, which will be followed by buying other materials, for sure, but it's a start, and it's free.

Another hint: Google euphonium audition or tuba audition, and you'll find lots of excerpts out there to read, also in PDF format. In a couple of minutes, I had the Holst 1st and 2nd Suite excerpts in both treble and bass clefs, along with several other common audition pieces.

I'm not suggesting, in any way, that this is enough material, but for the new guy on a budget who just needs something to play to get started, it's one way to go. Once we get started, we'll be buying the rest of the music we need.

Music For Self-Taught Adult Beginners

Here are a few more sources. My site has a euphonium audition page:

Euphonium Audition Advice

Also, there is an Amazon Euphonium Excerpt store that has recordings of many of the common excerpts. Most can be bought as individual tracks for less than a buck:

Euphonium Excerpt Store

And of course there is the Euphonium Excerpt Book, which has a good selection of excerpts for marches, band transcriptions, original band works, and orchestra:

Euphonium Excerpt Book