Thread: fixing euphonion tuning issues

1. fixing euphonion tuning issues

As a first time poster, I best introduce myself before I ask question.

I am a long time trombone player (approx 20 years). I have been doubling on euph now for about 5 years. The euph I play is a Boosey and Hawkes Soveriegn (so compensating).

I seem to have an unsolvable problem that is common to everyone. I have a very limited number of notes that are dead on in-tune without some kind of lip adjustment. This is expected. Getting back to basics, the question I have is where do I tune each slide so that the lip adjustments I have to make are minimised throughout the range of the instrument?

My initial instinct is to tune the main slide on a mid-range Bb. Then after that, tune the other slides to the notes in that harmonic. So, 1st valve to Ab, 2nd to A, 2nd + 3rd to Gb. What about on the compensating side and its tuning slides? Mid range F for the main slide?

I'd like to get to the point where I don't wince at the tuning when I hear a recording of myself.

Tim

fixing euphonion tuning issues

When I played a similar horn I tuned the B-flat as you described. Then I would have the first valve slide out about 1/4 - 3/8 inch. It meant I had to lip up a little on 3rd-space E-flat, but it helped other notes. To get F# in tune it helps to pull the 3rd-valve slide a bit. However, another option is to use 3 alone to play the G's, so you may want to balance the pulling if that fingering works better overall. Tune the 4th valve to your low C probably.

The Sovereign is sharp on the 6th partial so I used these alternates most of the time:

E-flat - 1&3
    E - 2&4
    F - 4

Some like to use 1&4 for the E-flat, but that adds more tubing so I avoided it.

For tuning to middle A when necessary, I found that it helped to use 1&3 for the A. I rarely used that while playing, though.

For the upper A, which is usually flat, you might find 1&2 a good choice in some contexts.