Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Bach 1110 and King Legend 2280

Bach 1110 and King Legend 2280

Hello all,

I'm new to this forum as of tonight. I am an amateur musician that has played trumpet my entire life except for the past year in which I switched to baritone. I play in a small church ensemble and a community band. I have been playing a 3v King Cleveland baritone, vintage 1960s, and am looking for an intermediate-quality horn with increased range in the lower register as well as better intonation (a few notes are quite a bit out of pitch).

I've recently been testing a new Bach B1110S. It has several features that I like - 3 water valves, 3rd valve trigger, good intonation, nice sound, solid construction, and sharp looks. However, I'm not crazy about the valves. They are scratchy/clunky and I don't know if it will disappear as the horn gets broken in. There is also quite a bit of clearance between the valve stems and the valve caps, and I can see that some of the stems are not centered in the cap opening.

Questions:
    Does anyone have any experience/feedback with either the Bach B1110 or the King Legend 2280 (I'm told they're identical horns). I can't find hardly anything written about them in these forums.

Is my concern over the valves unwarranted?

How do these horns compare with the Weril H980?

Thanks much.

2. Bach 1110 and King Legend 2280

well, the king has a slightly larger bore size, and seems bigger in volume, less compact. the 4th valve tubing doesnt loop under all the valves on the king like the bach. about the king 2280 that i think 2-3 people in these forums play, including me, they play pretty well.

3. Bach 1110 and King Legend 2280

Originally posted by: Euphist

well, the king has a slightly larger bore size, and seems bigger in volume, less compact. the 4th valve tubing doesnt loop under all the valves on the king like the bach. about the king 2280 that i think 2-3 people in these forums play, including me, they play pretty well.