X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • jbrown91
    • Nov 2006

Value for 1969 yep-321

Hello, I have a 1969 Yamaha YEP-321 serial # 000003 4 valve euphonium. It has the gold tone plating, 1st slide spit valve, longer 3rd valve slide, and the origonal case. The horn is in excellent shape. I have been playing it for 3 years now and would like to move up to a compensating system. The horn has an excellent tone quality, it has a better sound and range then the new YEP-321. Also I'm looking at a YEP-842 or Besson Prestige 2052, which one is better in your opinion? Thanks in advance.
  • jbrown91
    • Nov 2006

Value for 1969 yep-321

I didn't know if you could help me on this. I've been wanting to find out how much my instruments worth and no one really knows. Yamaha told me it was at leastworth list. So I don't know if that helps.

Comment

• davewerden
      Administrator
      • Nov 2005

Value for 1969 yep-321

The one thing that is throwing me is the serial number. One might think that such a low number may be worth more because of it "historic" value.

However, ignoring that for the moment, most used horns that have a comparable model still in production follow a common "formula" (not that scientific, actually). If your horn is in great shape, a potential buyer will be choosing between your instrument, which is old but still looks really nice, and a brand-new horn with a new case, cool Yamaha polishing cloth, etc. Most times they will not pay more than about 75-80% of the new price for a used horn. If yours is looking more dented and worn, then the price goes down. Usually it drops to about 50% for a horn that plays well buy is obviously well-worn.