Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hello from Smitty

Hello from Smitty

Hi--
    I'm new here... love the site and the forum. A little background:

I live in Layton, Utah-- about 25 miles north of Salt Lake City. I am a federal employee and work at Tooele (too-illa) Army Depot west of Salt Lake.

I'm 52 years old, married, and have 6 children. All have "flown the nest" except the youngest who just graduated from high school, and will be attending college this fall.

I enjoy instrumental and vocal music, and sing in my church choir. I also am the children's music leader in my church.

I've been playing cornet/trumpet since I was 8 years old, mainly in school bands from elementary through college. I later tried my hand at French Horn (military marching band & college concert band), Euphonium (German Brass Band while stationed in country, and a British Brass Band here at home), and Alto Horn (British Brass Band).

I love the sound of good brass music--particularly from the Baroque period. Canadian Brass is my favorite group in that regard, though that's largely because I'm not much aware of other groups or their music. I've also found that I tend to prefer the Euphonium and Alto Horns over the trumpet... mainly because of the lower brass sound-- strong and moving.

In ability, I'd probably rate as an Intermediate Hobby player... I play for fun, and personal fulfillment.

I own the following instruments:

Conn Mellophone
    Unknown Brand Alto Horn-- silver plated and fairly decent quality--
    Olds Ambassador Cornet
    Conn Constellation Trumpet (my student horn)
    Benge Trumpet
    Unknown Pocket Trumpet -- an impulse purchase-- probably Indian manufacture and reasonable sound.

I also play a little harmonica...

Glad I found the forum... hope to get to know the rest of you.

Regards,

Smitty

2. Hello from Smitty

Welcome!

Hello from Smitty

Welcome to the TubaEuph forum, Smitty! Thanks for telling us a bit about yourself.
    Dave Werden (ASCAP)